California News

West Coast Walk for Life in San Francisco

The seventh annual RIGHT TO LIFE WALK began at 11:00AM with people gathering at the Justin Herman Plaza at the foot of Market Street on Saturday, January 22, 2011. More than 40,000 people participated in the walk from the San Francisco Embarcadero Waterfront to the Marina Greens.

Ten California Bishops including Archbishop George Neiderauer, San Francisco Bishop William Justice, San Francisco Bishop Robert Mc Elroy, San Francisco Retired Bishop Ignatius Wong, Oakland Bishop Salvatore Cordileone, Santa Rosa Bishop Daniel Walsh, San Bernardino Bishop Rutilio Del Riego , Sacramento Bishop Jaime Soto, Stockton Bishop Stephen Blaire, Orange County Bishop Tod Brown participated in the WALK.

Prior to the WALK a Catholic Mass was held at Saint Mary’s Cathedral in San Francisco beginning at 8:00 AM.

LAOH Saint Brigid’s Mass and Brunch

The annual Mass and Brunch was held at the United Irish Cultural Center in San Francisco on Sunday, February 6, 2011. There were approximately 100 members of the LAOH and AOH in attendance representing San Francisco and Sonoma Counties.

Pictured above, seated from left to right are Jerry O'Keefe, Ken Jamieson. Kieran Scott, Joe Harvey, Dan McGowan. Back row: Eric Linden, Tim Weston, Eamonn Knuff, Bob Hannan, Kevin O'Keefe, Kevin Farrell, Kevin Spaeth, Eric Reiss, Chris O'Keefe, Chris Wittman, Jim Walsh, Tim O'Keefe, Ron Lippa, and Mick O'Keefe

Eric Linden is presented AOH plaque by Kieran Scott and Mick O'Keefe for his years of service as the Michael J. Farrell Sr. Division (2009-2010)

1916 AOH Easter Commemoration

On April 3rd, the Michael J. Farrell Sr. Division #2 and the Jerry O’Keefe Division #3 of Orange County, California held their AOH Easter Commemoration at the VFW in Anaheim. This AOH Commemoration event was held to honor a true Irish Patriot, Bill Ashe, AOH Division #2 charter member, as well as honoring all the fallen Heroes for Irish Freedom in 1916. Chuck Gildea, past California State Board President delivered a wonderful speech as the keynote speaker and Jerry O’Keefe, past National Director, kept the program moving as master of ceremonies. Tim Weston gave a moving rendition of Padraic Pearse’s oration at the graveside of O’Donovan Rossa, and Daniel Murphy gave a passionate tribute of the 1916 Roll of Honor. Eamonn and the Ravens entertained the crowd by performing all our Irish favorites, and Terry McCarthy graced the day and led the Flag processional with his bagpipes. Many thanks to all the brother and sister Hibernians who made this event once again a success. We were able to raise several hundred dollars, as well as providing a proper tribute to the heroes of the 1916 Easter Rising. Erin Go Bragh!

(L to R) Tim Roy, Jerry O'Keefe, Mick O'Keefe Jr., and Mick O'Keefe. Second row: Rory Propst, Tom Connaughton, Terry McCarthy, Chuck Gildea, Ken Jamieson, Andy Finnerty, and Eamonn Knuff. Third row: Michael Histon, Tim Weston, Bill Donoghue, Mark Mowen, Daniel Murphy, Daniel McGowan, Chris Manning, Kieran Scott, Kevin Farrell, P. J. McKenna, and Sean Murphy.


(L to R) Front row: Chrid Manning, Jerry O'Keefe, Mick O'Keefe, and Mick O'Keefe Jr. Second row: Kieran Scott, Kevin Farrell, Eric Linden, and Tim Weston. Third Row: Rory Propst, John Farrell, Brendan O'Shea, Philip Jones, and Brendan Farrell.

Many thanks to all our AOH Brothers who attended our AOH Texas Hold’em Poker tournament. The poker matches were lively and very competitive. As Brothers were knocked out of the tourney, the final table was set: Kevin Farrell, John Farrell, Brendan Farrell and Eric Linden. After many exciting hands, John Farrell and Eric Linden faced off head to head. With the Championship in sight, one final hand was played with Eric Linden taking the title. In true Hibernian spirit, Eric donated his entire winner’s purse to Santa Clara de Asis Catholic Church. Well done.