Nassau County AOH commemorates Easter Monday Rising

On Easter Monday, the Nassau County Board of the AOH hosted the annual commemoration at the Irish Monument in Mineola. More than 200 people attended the noontime service.

Tim Myles, Nassau Co. VP and NYS FFAI chairman, was the event chairman. Readings were given by AOH & LAOH members. Mike McCormack, AOH National Historian, was the guest speaker. Fr. Henry Reid gave the invocation. Div. 15 provided the color guard.

Among the honored guests were Ireland’s Deputy Consul General Anna McGillicuddy, NYS Pres. Jim Burke and LAOH State Pres. Carol McTigue.

The Irish monument that honors the men who died in 1916 in the cause of Irish freedom was erected in 1979 through the work of Irish organizations in the county that comprise the Irish Monument Committee. Brother Donal Mahoney is the chairman of the committee and was the events MC.


New York 2A New York 2B


At the Nassau County 2016 Memorial were, from left, Christopher Thompson, President of Div 5, Suffolk and Chairman of the 1916 Suffolk County Memorial; Past President Division 8 Robert Lynch; Past President Division 8 John Hanley; Past Queens County President Ed Rice; Nassau County Officer Rich O’Neill; Nassau Division 15 President Ken Ferguson; Nassau County Hisptoria Joe Gleason; Suffolk Division 8 Past President Richard Cremins; State FFAI Chairman Tim Myles; State Webmaster Joe McDonald; National Director Chip McLean; Nassau FFAI Chairman Vic Sackett; Past Nassau County President Ed Friel; Nassau County Recording Secretary Peter Begley; Master of Ceremonies Donal Mahoney; Past Nassau County President Mike Byrne; Division 15 Brother Patrick Nugent; New York State President Jim Burke; Irish Radio celebrity Kevin Westley; Past Queens County President Warren Scullin; Past Nassau Division 17 President Andy Healey; Nassau Division 11 President Jack O’Brien; Division 14 Brothrer Ted McTeague; Division 14 Past President Warren Cadiz; and Division 14 Past President Jim Henry.